New Mexico Real Estate CE Requirements
New Mexico Continuing Education Requirements
New Mexico real estate licensees are required to complete 36 hours of continuing education during every 3-year renewal cycle. The education must include at least 4 hours of Ethics and 4 hours of an approved Core Elective course during the 3-year period. Licensees must also complete a mandated 4 hour CORE course each year in a classroom setting. The remaining 16 hours can be fulfilled with a combination of Education and Training category courses, with a maximum 10 hours in the Training category. The Ethics, Core Elective, Education and Training courses can be completed online. You can view common FAQs here.
Every real estate license expires every three years on the last day of the month following the licensee's birth month, unless it is renewed on or before that date.
Additional Requirements for Qualifying Brokers:
All active Qualifying Brokers are required to successfully complete a 6 hour qualifying broker refresher course in a classroom. Empire Learning does not offer this course.
Qualifying Brokers must also attend either a NMREC Meeting or an NMREC Disciplinary Hearing once in their 3 year cycle. Up to 4 hours of CE credit may be awarded for such attendance.
Qualifying Brokers are required to take 8 hours of continuing education in their principal specialty (i.e. residential, commercial, property management, or land/ranches) during their 3-year cycle, of which 4 must be their Core elective. Our 8 hour Property Management Fundamentals course will satisfy this requirement, no matter a QBs specialty.
Expired license? Click here for additional information
|Total Hours:||36||Final Exam:||Yes|
|Mandatory Hours:||20.0||Passing Score:||70%|
|Elective Hours:||16.0||Max Final Exam Attempts:||No limit|
|Mandatory Topic(s):||Real Estate Commission Mandatory Course||Seat Timer:||Yes|
|Education Completed By:||Last day of month following licensee's birth month|
If you have any questions about your particular situation, please give us a call at (855) 460-1634 or use the "Chat with us" box on the bottom of the screen.
Residential Property Managers: are required to take a 6-hour New Mexico Uniform Owner Resident Relations Act (NMUORRA) CE class once every three years. Empire Learning does not offer this course. In addition, Qualifying Brokers must take 12 hours, and Associate Brokers must take 6 hours, of approved property management CE classes every three years. Empire Learning's 8-hour Property Management Fundamentals course qualifies towards this requirement.
New Associate Brokers: All new Associate Broker licensees must complete either the New Broker Business Practices or the CCIM 101 course within 1 year of licensure. The commission approved New Broker Business Practices course may count for up to 10 hours of CE.
Licensees expiring in 2019 or later are required to have completed the 4-hour CORE course in each of the 3 years of their license renewal cycle i.e. the 2017, 2018, and 2019 CORE courses.
If your license expired in 2017 or 2018, you will be required to make-up the annual 4-hour CORE courses for 2017 and 2018.
New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department Real Estate Commission Phone: (505) 222-9820 Website: www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/Real_Estate_Commission.aspx
All license renewal applications must be submitted online. Licensees will receive an email from NMREC approximately 2 months before their license expiration date with renewal instructions. An example of that email can be found here.
Licensees must have met all of the Continuing Education requirements as noted in the Rules before submitting their renewal forms.