Michigan Continuing Education Requirements
Michigan real estate licensees are required to complete 18 hours of continuing education in every 3-year renewal cycle. This includes an annual mandatory minimum of 2 hours in the area of real estate law, rules, and court cases (legal topics) each year.
Beginning November 1, 2018, all continuing education courses that count towards licensee renewal requirements must be certified by CE Marketplace. CE Marketplace provides a basic tracking service, free of charge, to assist you in finding certified course content and keeping a list of your CE Marketplace certified credit history.
Expired license? Click here for additional information
|Total Hours:||18||Final Exam:||Yes|
|Mandatory Hours:||6.0||Passing Score:||0%|
|Elective Hours:||12.0||Max Final Exam Attempts:||No limit|
|Mandatory Topic(s):||Law, Rules, and Court Cases||Seat Timer:||No|
|Education Completed By:||10/31/24|
Make-Up Hours: Although the total of 18 hours of CE is due on a triennial basis, a minimum of 2 hours of legal topics is required on an annual basis. If you've fallen behind on part or all of the annual minimum requirements, please purchase a course package with the appropriate make-up hours:
Behind 1 year -- 16-Hour Michigan Renewal Package
Behind 2 years -- 18-Hour Michigan Renewal Package
LARA - Bureau of Professional Licensing
You can renew your license with the state online after completing your continuing education courses. You must renew by midnight of your renewal due date to avoid lapsing and incurring a late fee. The license renewal application can be submitted to the state here: Dept. of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs.